Life is too short to not enjoy chips

Yesterday, I went out with a few friends to buy some groceries at the nearby Schnucks. When reaching the chips aisle, I asked my friend if I should surrender to my impulse and buy bags of my favorite Late July Blue Corn chips.

“Don’t do it. You’ll regret it later, Daun.”

She’s right. As much as I wanted to, I moved on and ended up buying fresh raspberries and strawberries that were on sale. I feel like my healthy alternatives were influenced by the food choices most of my WashU friends make.

Sometimes, I feel like the phrase “Freshman 15” doesn’t really exist at WashU. Which is good. No one willingly wants to gain 15 months within a 6 month span. I see people eating carefully customized salads and girls walking to Estrogym (at WashU, we have two gyms. One is called Athletic Complex located on main campus and is recently built. It’s modern and has the latest equipment. The other is located on South 40, which is where the first years and sophomores live. It’s conveniently located on top of Bear’s Den, the main dining hall on the South 40. This one’s informal name is Estro-Gym because most of the people who work out at this one is girls. Reason why is unclear).

Screen Shot 2017-02-25 at 3.52.25 PM.png
literally type Estrogym and WashU comes up

Most of the people at WashU are slim and fit. People work out a lot, and people are less inclined to indulge in fatty goods (unless it’s the weekend, which in that case it’s the norm to go to Bear’s Den and eat their infamous chicken fingers and french fries). At a hard institute like WashU, it’s nice to see students balancing work, extracurriculars, and exercising. It’s actually really refreshing to see students take their stress out running outside or playing tennis instead of gorging.*

athleticcomlex22.jpg
new Athletic Complex

I think there are two reasons for this. One, WashU houses a plethora of students from the a higher socioeconomic background, aka people who are most likely to buy food from Whole Foods and other healthier supermarkets. People who are less likely to eat fast food on a regular basis. Two, WashU accepts students who were at the top of their class, students who usually played a few sports and still managed to receive good grades.

Yesterday, at the checkout line, my friend commented, “I read somewhere that if you eat a small bag of chips every day, you gain two pounds in a year.” Two pounds? That’s nothing. I mean, yeah, it’s hard to shed two pounds but in the grand scheme of things, it’s nothing. I’m writing this as I eat a small bag of Doritos, my least favorite type of chips. In about 10 minutes, I’m going to play tennis with my suitemate. Honestly, engorge yourself in whatever you want– in moderation. And work out every once in awhile. Who the fuck cares.

 

 

 

*I’m not trying to fat-shame or call out people who may not like eating salads or working out. I am neither. I eat salads sometimes, but I’m not the biggest fan. I’d prefer a sandwich or something. I do run often but only because I find it relaxing.

Leave a Reply

