My Discovery of a Delicious and Healthy Smoothie

As a college student, it is customary that I am lazy and only eat fatty foods. That was the old me. New me, as of Sunday, is attempting to be healthy. I have always been a big advocate for running and exercising but knew that if I wanted to take it to the next level, I would have to start eating healthy too.

It’s not that I don’t like salads, but it’s more that I prefer greasy egg sandwiches or stir fry. But the New Me insists on eating one salad per day, cutting back on carbs and processed foods, and reducing my intake of sugary goods. My breakfast today was melons, an apple, and a smoothie. Not the most filling or best breakfast but not the worst. The smoothie, though, was great. I didn’t feel different, but every ingredient I used was organic and nutritious.

NOTE: I honestly eyeball everything I do and don’t really care about measurements as long as it tastes good. Sorry if you were expecting a more informative recipe.

Here is the recipe:

  • two very ripe and frozen bananas
  • milk (I add around a cup and a half but I like mine not too watered down. up to you)
  • chia seeds (half a cup?)
  • cardamom

That’s it.

I know, it sounds kinda weird who adds cardamom to smoothies? You’re welcome to take it out, but I am a big fan and add it to almost everything I made (i.e. oatmeal, tea, warm soy milk, etc).

If you try it and you like it, let me know! This is not my typical post, so I’m sorry I am becoming a typical food blogger. I’ll try harder next time.

Leave a Reply

