Cooking as a College Student

With the limited amount of space and utensils, it’s really hard to cook in a college dorm. At home, I have the comfort of using various pots and pans and specialized knives for specific types of food– all things I never even thought about. Honestly, buying groceries is a hassle too. My mini fridge gets filled after a gallon of milk and pack of carrots, how am I supposed to store ingredients for something as simple as an omelet? I simply don’t have enough space for eggs, peppers, spinach, and carrots.

I had heard about food subscriptions before but never really gave them much consideration. After all, my parents did all the cooking at home, and they didn’t have much use for prepackaged materials shipped to our house. In college, however, I realize that most of the food I eat is lathered with grease and fat, things that are appealing to most stress-eating college student. After a semester of complying with the unhealthy food options available to me, I wanted to look at other options that allowed me to have a more balanced and nutritious meal. Then, I was informed of Blue Apron.

Blue Apron is a subscription based food service; you choose meals ahead of time, and they send you the correct ingredients and recipe you need for the meals. Each ingredient is locally sourced, healthy, and relatively easy to make– perfect for college students who are looking at healthier alternatives and cannot cook: me.

Last Friday, I went to a friend’s apartment and helped him make a Catfish Katsu. Blue Apron sent packaged catfish, bread crumbs, rice, green onions, and seaweed to sprinkle on top. At most, it took about 40 minutes.

320_2PF_Katsu_Style_Catfish_29576_Right_splash_feature.jpg
here is what it should’ve looked like
unnamed.jpg
pretty similar right?!

The cabbage salad/cole slaw was a bit too sweet, but the Black Garlic mayonnaise sauce complemented the crispy catfish so well. I personally don’t like catfish, because I find it a bit too slimy for a fish and I dislike the very distinct smell catfish have, but this one was not too bad. I think the sauce helped a lot. The rice was slightly overdone, but the dried seaweed helped mask the texture.

Honestly, Blue Apron is such a smart business. The use of local farmers and ingredients is especially appealing to the younger generation because of our desire to be more aware of where our food comes from. The recipes are pretty straightforward and the proportions are nicely sized. Eating out is fun, but cooking can be entertaining too. Grab a few friends, and order Blue Apron. Cooking is easier than it looks.

“Anyone can cook.”

Ratatouille

1 thought on “Cooking as a College Student”

Leave a Reply

