Freshman 15

Recently, I visited the doctor’s office for my yearly checkup. Like always, I was asked to get on the scale. Unlike always, I saw my weight shoot up about 10 pounds past by normal weight. TEN. POUNDS.

I could not believe it. I knew that my diet hadn’t been the best, but 10 pounds?! Right then and there, I felt every extra layer of fat molecule that had accumulated on my body over the course of this year. I gripped at my sides, noticing how much easier it was to grip my once tone sides. sigh. I should’ve seen this coming.

In high school, I played two sports: tennis and cross country. So, my exercise regime was steady, and my diet consisted of healthy salads and lean meats. In college, I still exercise and eat well– but I gravitate more towards the occasional chocolate and chips, something I didn’t have previous access to.

My goal has never been to lose weight but to instead focus on a healthy mind and body, making sure I eat well and exercise on a regular basis. Now, I feel fatter, like a blob of fat walking around, hidden underneath my loose, shapeless, comfortable clothing. Body insecurity is an issue most people face, and it was not something I had ever considered. I am not confident in my body at all, despite people telling me that I am not fat. I know I am not fat, but I also know that my body is not the shape and weight it once was. Body insecurity for non-overweight people is a big deal too, but most people only focus on body positivity for people over the “socially acceptable” weight.

My stake on this issue is not that I am “fat” and need to lose 30 pounds, but it’s that I don’t carry the same air of confidence because I have surrendered to the Freshman 15 Influenza.

Society has a tendency to focus only on the extreme cases of any issue but ignores the cases in between. Overlooking these seemingly “unimportant” issues are problematic, because they contribute to the overall problem too. Case in point: black lives matter are a significant issue that needs to be heavily pursued, but what about the disparity Asians face? Take United. On the random survey of people who were selected to get off the plane were all Asian. If they were all black, there would be an uproar, but because they were all Asian, no one batted an eye. Obviously, the bigger issue here was the fact that the guy was inhumanly dragged off, but there was an underlying race issue that most people disregarded.

What happened to focusing on the picture at large? Instead of scrutinizing the little details?

Leave a Reply

