Thoughts on Freshman Year

In my previous post, I provided a very brief timeline of my first year at WashU. I didn’t know, but looking at it, I noticed that I winded down a lot my second semester. In general, I felt like I wasn’t as active second semester social-wise, because I was so tied down with working, homework, and my extracurriculars. The pros to this are that I was more on top of my homework and feeling less stressed out, but the cons are that I found myself seeing less and less of my friends as I continued to reject their invitations to go out on a weekend. I preferred staying in and getting a head start on homework.

I think my second semester taught me that if I don’t make an effort to see my friends, I can lose so many good friends. And it’s hard. We all have very different, hectic schedules, so making time for each other is not easy. Even my suitemates I once went a week without seeing them when I was at the height of my busy-ness.

It’s strange. I know a lot of WashU students have thoughts about transferring whether it be the academic rigor or not fitting into the social scene or missing home or, in my case, unable to comprehend WashU’s lack of transparency on so many important issues. For example, the issue of divesting from fossil fuels, even our chancellor said that we will “never divest from fossil fuels for political and social reasons,” which to me is so ridiculous. The recycling and compost system here sucks, we cater too much to the privileged, and WashU’s primary concern is not our education but how we present ourselves to the outsiders.

It bothers me that some students don’t see this, but when the administration fail to recognize these issues and act upon them, it makes it difficult for me to love WashU. There are so many good things about WashU and first semester; I met so many interesting people. The good thing about WashU is that everyone is intelligent, to some degree, but they all have that other “thing” they are interested in or good at. I have a suitemate who’s very into linguistics and then across the hall, we have a suite full of law-track students. It’s great to see so much variety in interests, but what lacks is the variety in racial and social diversity.

This is kind of like my plea for help or an ode to my first year at WashU. Not great, not terrible, but hopefully will improve as time goes on.

 

 

Also, the cover photo is a picture of freshly planted tulips in front of Brookings Building (main entrance to campus). We have a fund entirely dedicated to the tulips, which should instead be used to usher in more diversity and help students gain access to subsidized books or something. Stupid flowers do nothing for our education.

Leave a Reply

