GOING HOME

I’m finally going home today! My last final was yesterday, I am almost done with my last paper of the semester, and I finished packing and storing my stuff into the storage unit. Heck yes.

I am exhausted. It’s been a rough semester. In this week alone, my average sleep hours have been 4 and a half. My face is breaking out constantly, and I find myself being “out of it” way too often now.

The only thing I want to do is curl up and sleep for the next 24 hours. I don’t even think I can physically do that, but I would.

A common question I’ve been getting is, “What are you doing this summer?”

And honestly, I don’t know.

I recently received an email for a potential internship, which is really enticing. And my parents are very supportive as well. Except. They think this is the last summer I’ll be able to do something fun. “You’ll be working for the rest of your life. Use this time to have fun and travel,” they told me.

They have a point.

I know society shouldn’t have an effect on me, but I can’t help but feel a societal pressure to find something more productive to do over the summer. What happened to just enjoy spending time with your family and doing nothing? Why is it so criticized in society? Granted there are better things to do than sitting around and watching t.v, but how we choose to spend our summers shouldn’t be looked down upon. We worked hard all year, we deserve a break.

Just something I’ve been thinking about. But, even with that said, I want to work this summer.

Leave a Reply

