Haircut

I’ve been dreaming of the perfect haircut.

It’s a bit of a strange thing to say, I get it. But I think haircuts/hairstyles are the true indicators of who you are as a person and what your societal standing is.

In 3rd grade, a Korean friend came back from winter vacation with bronzy orange streaks in her hair. It looked so edgy to young me, and I begged my mom to let me get them.

She agreed.

Winter break of my 4th grade, I visited Korea. Aside from seeing my family, I remember going into the salon and prepping the bleach for my hair. My hairstylist rocked a short bob cut and was wearing a neon green outfit. She slowly slathered on the treatment and wrapped my hair in tin foil. After about two hours, I came out of the shop a new person. I was the coolest kid ever.

Summer break of my 5th grade, I wanted curly hair. Which was kinda impossible because I was on swim team then and my hair was color damaged, too thick, and chlorine damaged as well. After countless attempts, my mom finally relented and took me to bob cut hairstylist where she tried not once, not twice or thrice, but FOUR TIMES to curl my hair using a magic perm treatment (definition: magic perms are a type of perms that don’t curl you hair to a tight poodle’s curl but more loose and wavy).

Summer of my 6th grade, my curls and highlights were long gone. This was the era of side bangs. Everyone had them, either because they strengthened a person’s facial features or because they hid any face impurities such as acne. I hadn’t had bangs since I was four, where I donned the traditional Korean bowl cut, and I was tired of my same hairstyle, which was just a short layered cut. In the end, I got a leaf cut, where my bangs were in the shape of a leaf.

I was excited. I thought it would look so good.

I was wrong. Bangs were a hassle and made my acne significantly worse. And I wouldn’t fit in with those who did get bangs.

Summer of my 7th grade, my bangs had finally grown out. I got highlights again. But this would be my most drastic cut. I wanted to feel grown up. I told my hairstylist to chop off everything. My hair became a short bob. I hated it. My face is round enough as it is, and a bob cut didn’t not improve this feature.

Finally, by freshman year of high school, I discovered what haircut looked good on me. It was a long bob, cut until my shoulders, and I had it layered. But it was too basic of a haircut. I wanted something bold.

Freshman year was when the ombre trend took off.

During my junior year, I wanted in on this ombre trend. So I did it. I dyed my hair again– but only the tips this time in a gradient brown to get that ombre affect.

This last haircut and hairstyle are the same ones I wear today. I haven’t changed them for four years. I find it hard. I’m really attached to my hair. It took a lot of trial and error and I finally found a style that shapes my face well. It’s long enough to tie back but short enough to wear tangles are a rarity. It was really the ideal haircut.

I still think this. But I look at the media now and see how many hairstyles there are. With the changing of my major, maybe it’s time to consider a new haircut.

Leave a Reply

